Athletic Bilbao 3-2 Barcelona: Iker Muniain scores extra-time penalty to win Copa del Rey tie

Athletic Bilbao 3-2 Barcelona: Iker Muniain scores extra-time penalty to win Copa del Rey tie

by Emily Smith
0 comment 22 views

Iker Muniain inspired his side with two goals and an assistIker Muniain scored twice – including an extra-time penalty winner – as Athletic Bilbao knocked Barcelona out of the Copa del Rey in the last 16.

Muniain opened the scoring inside two minutes, before Ferran Torres scored his first Barcelona goal to level in the 20th minute.

Inigo Martinez thought he’d won it only for Pedri to fire in a last-gasp leveller and force extra time.

But Muniain’s 105th-minute penalty clinched victory for the hosts.

Defeat deepened the gloom for Barca – sixth in La Liga and enduring a miserable season – with boss Xavi’s only realistic hopes of a trophy this season now lying with the Europa League.

Athletic took the lead early on when Nico Williams, younger brother of Athletic winger Inaki, crossed for Muniain, who curled beautifully into the corner past goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Torres scored a similar goal at the other end 18 minutes later, restoring parity in a pulsating game.

In the 86th minute, Martinez forced Muniain’s free-kick over the line via a header from substitute Alex Berenguer, with the goal given after a VAR check for offside.

Berenguer then thought he had made it 3-1, but the goal was ruled out for offside, before Pedri struck for Barca in stoppage time after Dani Alves’ overhead assist.

But it only delayed Barcelona’s disappointment as Muniain converted from the spot when Jordi Alba was judged to have handled a cross in the area.

Line-upsAth BilbaoFormation 4-4-2


18De Marcos12Vivian4Martínez17Berchiche

30Williams14García Carrillo6Vesga10Muniain


26Agirrezabala18De MarcosBooked at 104minsSubstituted forLekueat 105’minutes12Vivian4Martínez17BerchicheSubstituted forBalenziagaat 90’minutes30WilliamsSubstituted forZarragaat 110’minutes14García CarrilloBooked at 30mins6VesgaSubstituted forNolaskoainat 117’minutes10MuniainBooked at 120mins8SancetSubstituted forWilliamsat 52’minutesBooked at 119mins22GarcíaSubstituted forBerenguer Remiroat 79’minutesSubstitutes1Simón2Petxarroman3Núñez7Berenguer Remiro9Williams15Lekue19Zarraga21Capa23Nolaskoain24Balenziaga33SerranoBarcelonaFormation 4-3-3

1ter Stegen

8Alves da Silva4Araújo3Piqué18Alba

16González López5Busquets30Paez Gaviria


1ter Stegen8Alves da Silva4Araújo3PiquéBooked at 76mins18AlbaBooked at 105mins16González LópezBooked at 97minsSubstituted forBraithwaiteat 105+3’minutes5Busquets30Paez GaviriaSubstituted forde Jongat 61’minutesBooked at 104mins19Torres29JutglàSubstituted forFati Vieiraat 61’minutesSubstituted forDestat 96’minutes33EzzalzouliSubstituted forGonzález Iglesiasat 45’minutesSubstitutes2Dest6Puig Martí10Fati Vieira12Braithwaite13Murara Neto14González Iglesias15Lenglet21de Jong22Mingueza31Balde Martínez36TenasReferee:José Luis Munuera Montero


Read More

You may also like

Leave a Comment