2021 Tony Awards: Complete list of winners and nominees


The 74th Tony Awards have commenced, honoring the best achievements of the 2019-2020 Broadway season. The ceremony was originally scheduled for June 7, 2020, but was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which shuttered Broadway for a year and a half.

The show is employing a unique format, beginning with an award ceremony hosted by singer and actress Audra McDonald at 7 p.m. ET streaming on Paramount+. The live concert event “The Tony Awards Present: Broadway’s Back!,” hosted by Leslie Odom Jr., will then air on CBS and Paramount+ beginning at 9 p.m. ET. 

The final three awards, Best Play, Best Revival of a Play and Best Musical, will be presented during the primetime special.

“Jagged Little Pill,” the musical featuring songs and music written by Alanis Morissette, received the most nominations with 15, including for Best Musical. “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” followed close behind with 14 and is also up for the Best Musical award.

Best Play”Grand Horizons” – Bess Wohl”The Inheritance” – Matthew Lopez”Sea Wall/A Life” – Simon Stephens and Nick Payne”Slave Play” – Jeremy O. Harris”The Sound Inside” – Adam RappBest Musical”Jagged Little Pill””Moulin Rouge! The Musical””Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”Best Revival of a Play”Betrayal””Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune””A Soldier’s Play”Best Book of a MusicalDiablo Cody – “Jagged Little Pill” — WinnerJohn Logan – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”Katori Hall, Frank Ketelaar, and Kees Prins – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a PlayIan Barford – “Linda Vista”Andrew Burnap – “The Inheritance”Jake Gyllenhaal – “Sea Wall/A Life”Tom Hiddleston – “Betrayal”Tom Sturridge – “Sea Wall/A Life”Blair Underwood – “A Soldier’s Play”Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a PlayJoaquina Kalukango – “Slave Play”Laura Linney – “My Name Is Lucy Barton”Audra McDonald – “Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune”Mary-Louise Parker – “The Sound Inside”Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a MusicalAaron Tveit – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a MusicalKaren Olivo – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”Elizabeth Stanley – “Jagged Little Pill”Adrienne Warren – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a PlayDavid Alan Grier – “A Soldier’s Play” — WinnerAto Blankson-Wood – “Slave Play”James Cusati-Moyer – “Slave Play”John Benjamin Hickey – “The Inheritance”
Paul Hilton – “The Inheritance”Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a PlayLois Smith – “The Inheritance” — WinnerJane Alexander – “Grand Horizons”Chalia La Tour – “Slave Play”Annie McNamara – “Slave Play”Cora Vander Broek – “Linda Vista”
Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a MusicalDanny Burstein – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerDerek Klena – “Jagged Little Pill”Sean Allan Krill – “Jagged Little Pill”Sahr Ngaujah – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”Daniel J. Watts – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a MusicalLauren Patten – “Jagged Little Pill” — WinnerKathryn Gallagher – “Jagged Little Pill”Celia Rose Gooding – “Jagged Little Pill”Robyn Hurder – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”Myra Lucretia Taylor – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”
Best Direction of a PlayStephen Daldry – “The Inheritance” — WinnerDavid Cromer – “The Sound Inside”Kenny Leon – “A Soldier’s Play”
Jamie Lloyd – “Betrayal”Robert O’Hara – “Slave Play”Best Direction of a MusicalAlex Timbers – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerPhyllida Lloyd – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”Diane Paulus – “Jagged Little Pill”Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics Written for the Theatre)Christopher Nightingale (music) – “A Christmas Carol” — WinnerPaul Englishby (music) – “The Inheritance”Fitz Patton and Jason Michael Webb (music) – “The Rose Tattoo”Lindsay Jones (music) – “Slave Play”Daniel Kluger (music) – “The Sound Inside”Best ChoreographySonya Tayeh – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerSidi Larbi Cherkaoui – “Jagged Little Pill”Anthony Van Laast – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”
Best Scenic Design of a PlayRob Howell – “A Christmas Carol” — WinnerBob Crowley – “The Inheritance”Soutra Gilmour – “Betrayal”Derek McLane – “A Soldier’s Play”
Clint Ramos – “Slave Play”Best Scenic Design of a MusicalDerek McLane – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerRiccardo Hernández and Lucy MacKinnon – “Jagged Little Pill”Mark Thompson and Jeff Sugg – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”
Best Costume Design of a PlayRob Howell – “A Christmas Carol” — WinnerDede Ayite – “Slave Play”Dede Ayite – “A Soldier’s Play”Bob Crowley – “The Inheritance”Clint Ramos – “The Rose Tattoo”
Best Costume Design in a MusicalCatherine Zuber – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerEmily Rebholz – “Jagged Little Pill”Mark Thompson – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”Best Lighting Design of a PlayHugh Vanstone – “A Christmas Carol” — WinnerJiyoun Chang – “Slave Play”Jon Clark – “The Inheritance”Heather Gilbert – “The Sound Inside”Allen Lee Hughes – “A Soldier’s Play”Best Lighting Design of a MusicalJustin Townsend – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerBruno Poet – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”Justin Townsend – “Jagged Little Pill”Best Sound Design of a PlaySimon Baker – “A Christmas Carol” — WinnerPaul Arditti and Christopher Reid – “The Inheritance”Lindsay Jones – “Slave Play”
Daniel Kluger – “Sea Wall/A Life”Daniel Kluger – “The Sound Inside”Best Sound Design of a MusicalPeter Hylenski – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerJonathan Deans – “Jagged Little Pill”Nevin Steinberg – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”
Best OrchestrationKatie Kresek, Charlie Rosen, Matt Stine and Justin Levine – “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” — WinnerTom Kitt – “Jagged Little Pill”Ethan Popp – “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical”

Download our Free App

For Breaking News & Analysis Download the Free CBS News app

Read More

You might also like
Leave A Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More