Pixel remasters of Final Fantasy I, II and III will launch on July 28th


The titles will first release on Steam and then on Android and iOS the next day

At this year’s E3, Square Enix confirmed that Final Fantasy I, II and III are getting a pixel remaster.

Now, the publisher has revealed that the updated titles are ready to release and will come out on July 28th for PC users via Steam. A day later on July 29th, the remastered titles will be available to download for Android and iOS devices.

The games that inspired a generation come to life once more.

The first three #FinalFantasy pixel remaster titles are now available to pre-purchase on Steam individually or as a bundle, and launch on July 28th.

Save 20% off by pre-purchasing: https://t.co/mwWu0y7uk8 pic.twitter.com/fqpHZ7PX8y

— FINAL FANTASY (@FinalFantasy) July 1, 2021

The games can be pre-ordered now via Steam, either separately for $15.99 to $23.99 or as part of a bundle that includes all six Final Fantasy titles for $99.78. Those who pre-order the bundle will also receive 18 soundtracks and 12 wallpapers from all six instalments of the franchise.

According to Square Enix’s press release, the remastered titles will have “quality-of-life upgrades while staying faithful to the retro design.”

Some upgrades include:

  • Redrawn 2D pixel character and background graphics, featuring iconic FINAL FANTASY character pixel designs created by Kazuko Shibuya, the original artist and current collaborator

  • Beautifully rearranged soundtracks, overseen by original composer Nobuo Uematsu

  • Improved gameplay, including controller and touch controls, modernized UI, auto-battle options, and more

  • Dive into the world of the game with supplemental extras like the bestiary, illustration gallery, music player, and the ability to save at any time

You might be thinking, what about the other three instalments in the long-running franchise? Final Fantasy IV, V and VI are also getting a pixel remake, though their release date has not been confirmed yet.

Square Enix says that if you purchase the bundle (mentioned above), you’ll only get the first three installments, along with extra soundtracks and wallpapers. The latter three installments will be offered free of cost at a later date.

Image credit: Square Enix

Source: Square Enix

Read More

You might also like
Leave A Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More