How the PL table would look if it began when Ferguson retired


Manchester United became the most dominant force in English football during Sir Alex Ferguson’s reign – but a lot has changed since then. 

Ferguson took over at United in 1986 and won the inaugural Premier League in 1992-93, ending United’s 26-year wait for a league title.

The manager then built a dynasty, winning another 12 league titles alongside five FA Cups, four League Cups, two Champions Leagues and the FIFA Club World Cup.

After being crowned league winners in 2012-13, Ferguson decided to retire and also handpicked David Moyes to be his successor at Old Trafford.

But Moyes unsurprisingly struggled to fill Ferguson’s shoes and was sacked 10 months into a six-year contract with United sat in seventh place.

“Whether it was Jose Mourinho, Carlo Ancelotti, Jurgen Klopp, Pep Guardiola or David Moyes, it would have been a difficult job for whoever took over,” Moyes said in 2016.

“My only regrets would be the time-scale. It would never have been an easy ride. But I believed I had longer – I didn’t believe I had to do it in nine or even 12 months. I was given plenty of reassurances.”

Louis van Gaal replaced Moyes and finished fourth in his first season at United but was sacked after missing out on the top four in 2015-16.

Jose Mourinho and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer both led United to second-place finishes before it all went downhill and they were sacked by the club.

It’s nearly nine years since United last won the Premier League and they’ve had to watch as their rivals have gone from strength to strength.

We’ve collated the Premier League table since the start of the 2013-14 season to see who comes out on top. 

Note: we’ve only included the 10 teams who’ve stayed in the Premier League for the last eight and a half years. Also, all teams have played 331 games unless it’s stated otherwise.

1. Man City – 740 points

2. Liverpool – 682 points (330 games played)

3. Chelsea – 637 points (329 games played)

4. Man Utd – 603 points

5. Tottenham – 600 points (329 games played)

6. Arsenal –  595 points (328 games played)

7. Everton – 460 points (328 games played)

8. West Ham – 437 points

9. Southampton – 430 points (330 games played)

10. Crystal Palace – 386 points

More from Planet Football
19 of the best quotes about Sir Alex Ferguson: ‘Such an iconic person’

Can you name every £10m+ player Sir Alex Ferguson signed for Man Utd?

The day Sir Alex Ferguson subbed himself on to play for Man Utd

Ranking Sir Alex Ferguson’s last 20 Man Utd signings from worst to best

Read More

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More